Hello, fellow humans.

Today, I’m here to give you a guide on what not to do when you see a bookworm read. This is based on experience and it’s something my friends have come to learn the hard way.

  1. Do not: try and talk to me when I’m reading

It’s like when you’re being social but nobody wants to talk to you so you decide to put your earphones in and you suddenly become the most popular person on this planet. Seriously. What’s up with that?

If you see me read my book, that can only mean one thing, okay? And that is that I do not feel like talking to anybody.

You say hi? I don’t care. Something happened to you that you need to tell me about it immediately? No shits are given. You want to give me chocolate? Stuff it somewhere else. You need help? Well, that’s too bad. Your cat died? Whatever.

Honestly, if I’m reading a good book and you come up to me to talk, chances are that I will hit you with it. And then apologize to the book.

So the solution? Just don’t talk to me while I’m reading.

 2. Do not: eat or drink next to me while I’m reading

Why is this so important? Even if you aren’t doing anything that would necessarily annoy me or disturb me, eating or drinking is a big, fat NO.

The reason behind that is that I’m just so careful with my books that even the proximity of a beverage will make me want to cover it with everything I’ve got. Because I don’t trust you enough to risk the life of my book. As far as I know, you could trip and spill the drink all over the pages. Or you could eat spaghetti and get some on my book (if I have it set on the table and am not holding it in my hands).

I also do not tolerate loud sucking through the straw when you almost run out of the drink because it’s annoying and it makes me lose my concentration.

3. Do not: watch videos and TV or listen to music when I’m reading

Like I said, it makes me lose concentration. Now, usually, I’d leave to let you watch videos in peace and go to find my own quiet spot but if there’s NOWHERE to go, you better put some earphones in.

4. Do not: spoil the book I’m reading while I’m reading it or ANY TIME BEFORE I FINISH IT!

Unless I personally ask you for spoilers, then NO SPOILERS!

And this is what I came up with so far. Know that most of what I wrote is over-exaggerated (not really) but it’s basically what kind of bugs me. I won’t really yell at you but I will kindly remind you that it does bother me a bit.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed and don’t be afraid to let me know what bothers you when reading.

Love, Desi

Leave a Reply

